top of page

Team Tales: Charing Visits Kenya


Nearly one year ago today, I was running around the house packing up clothes, malaria pills, mosquito nets, books and other random items into my suitcase and getting mentally prepared to make my trip across the globe to Kenya.

Man, was I nervous back then!

Leading up to my trip, I was receiving daily emails from friends and family for weeks on end, with different articles regarding the spread of Ebola in Africa and terrorist attacks in Kenya. I knew they were just looking out for me and I understood their concerns but I was also determined to go to Kenya in order to see first-hand what we, as a team, have been working towards at The Wasichana Fund.

I arrived at the Nairobi airport and was greeted by Jade and Texas, our friendly driver with whom we would eventually share our life stories and hear all the latest local gossip from. It honestly didn't feel like the scary place that I had concocted in my mind from watching all the news outlets back home. From the airport, we headed to the volunteer house where we were immediately welcomed by our homestay moms. They were so warm and friendly and provided us with the perfect place to call home for the next two weeks. Jade and I shared a bunk bed and even experienced our first bucket shower when we unexpectedly went days without running water (what an interesting and hilarious experience to say the least!).

With a short amount of time in Nairobi, Jade and I got to work right away. Over the next two weeks, we would establish our "office" at a nearby coffee shop, the Java House. With power outlets and free Wi-Fi, this is where we’d work on our presentation decks and regularly meet with Nelly and other female leaders in the

community to introduce them to the health curriculum we developed and learn firsthand what struggles and challenges these female leaders have had to overcome.

In addition to working at various coffee shops, we had the most rewarding time visiting the schools. I will still remember the first time I met the girls at Eutychus Secondary School. Jade was taking photos with her camera and the girls were a bit shy at first but after a couple shots, their confidence really shined and they were posing for the camera (some funny poses and some sassy photos)!

We were initially greeted with a brief and shy “hello” but in a few short minutes, they would feel more

comfortable with us and start asking tons of questions to get to know us better: “Do you sing? Do you dance? What are your hobbies?” Even though the schools were modest metal and wood sheds with very basic tables and supplies, the girls were all smiling and playful and their happiness just warmed your heart. It was such an unforgettable day to get to meet the girls that we have supported over the last few years that Wasichana had been in operation.

I can’t wait to share more of my stories and memories with you all. Stay tuned!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page